Press Play, Record

Recent Interviews
  • Acute
  • AM
  • Aqueduct
  • Nicole Atkins
  • The Autumn Defense
  • Bears
  • Besnard Lakes
  • Benoit Pioulard
  • Big Sir
  • The Canvas Waiting
  • Cougar
  • Deerhunter
  • Loren Dent
  • The Earlies
  • Elanors
  • Explosions in the Sky
  • The Finches
  • Hammock
  • The Higher
  • The Hotel Alexis
  • The Inner Banks
  • Los Campesinos!
  • Lovedrug
  • Willy Mason
  • Math & Physics Club
  • New Buffalo
  • New Ruins
  • Pissed Jeans
  • The Postmarks
  • RTX
  • Rumskib
  • Marnie Stern
  • Strategy
  • The Submarines
  • Richard Swift
  • About Press Play and Record
  • Underwriting
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Meet the Staff
  • Contact Information
  • Our Myspace
  • Mundane Sounds
  • Retailers of Note
  • Darla Records
  • Parasol
  • Tonevendor
  • Websites of Note
  • Tiny Mix Tapes
  • In Love with These Times, In Spite of These Times
  • Lamestain!
  • Built on a Weak Spot
  • Captains Dead
  • Chickfactor
  • Gorilla vs. Bear
  • Soul Sides
  • You Ain't No Picasso
  • I Guess I'm Floating
  • My Old Kentucky Blog
  • Domino Rally
  • Erasing Clouds
  • Mapadaisical
  • Music for Kids Who Can't Read Good
  • Muzzle Of Bees
  • So Much Silence
  • Chromewaves
  • The Rich Girls Are Weeping
  • I am Fuel, You Are Friends
  • Site Feeds
  • Feedburner
  • AOL
  • Google
  • Yahoo!
  • Throw Me the Statue About to Walk
    Saturday, December 8, 2007

    I have a feeling that Throw Me the Statue is going to suffer from some hefty comparisons to Neutral Milk Hotel. But that's missing the point, isn't it? Okay, so Scott Reitherman has a fuzzy warble that might seem similar to Jeff Mangum's, and he has a tendency to write hazy, sunny psychedelic folk songs with all sorts of wonderful little surprises, but not everybody with an orchestra and a Sinatra-like singing voice is Sinatra, you know? About to Walk is their debut EP for Secretly Canadian, and it's a total keeper. The three songs found here are, in a word, magical; starting with the title track, it's extremely difficult not to be hypnotized by Reitherman and his hapless, carefree singing. He then hits you with a "if-you-liked-that-one-then-here's-another" attack of pure pop wonderfulness with "Lolita," a song so laden with handclaps, humming, and guitar strumming that makes you feel the pain and heart of his lovelorn lyrics. "The Old Believer" is pretty good, too; it's not quite as catchy as the other two songs, but the company it keeps certainly makes up for any lacking.

    About to Walk is a wonderful year-end treat, a teaser for greatness yet to come when then band releases its debut album, Moonbeams. From these three little songs, I have a feeling 2008's going to be a great year for Mr. Reitherman.

    Listen To: "About to Walk"

    Labels: ,

    posted by joseph kyle @ 10:08 AM  
    Post a Comment
    << Home
    Previous Postings
    Vintage Interviews
  • Ad Astra Per Apsera
  • Adem
  • Annuals
  • Bobby Bare, Jr
  • The Blow
  • Boduf Songs
  • Brothers & Sisters
  • Paul Burch
  • Allen Clapp
  • Angela Desveaux
  • The Draft
  • Evangelicals
  • Feathers
  • Grand Mal
  • Neil Hamburger
  • Headlights
  • His Name is Alive
  • Keris Howard
  • Graham Lindsey
  • Hans-Peter Lindstrøm
  • The Little Ones
  • Lucero
  • The Matches
  • Mahogany
  • Prophet Omega
  • Alec K. Redfearn
  • Relay
  • Dani Siciliano
  • Sprites
  • Tobin Sprout
  • Tacks, the Boy Disaster
  • Viva Voce
  • Westbound Train
  • What Made Milwaukee Famous
  • The World/Inferno Friendship Society
  • Blog Ethically!
    All songs appearing here are done so either with permission or for sampling purposes only. Files appear here for a limited time only, so act fast! If you possess the copyright to anything posted here and wish to have it removed, please let us know and we shall do so. We're not wanting to cause problems, friends.
    Template by

    Free Blogger Templates