Press Play, Record

Recent Interviews
  • Acute
  • AM
  • Aqueduct
  • Nicole Atkins
  • The Autumn Defense
  • Bears
  • Besnard Lakes
  • Benoit Pioulard
  • Big Sir
  • The Canvas Waiting
  • Cougar
  • Deerhunter
  • Loren Dent
  • The Earlies
  • Elanors
  • Explosions in the Sky
  • The Finches
  • Hammock
  • The Higher
  • The Hotel Alexis
  • The Inner Banks
  • Los Campesinos!
  • Lovedrug
  • Willy Mason
  • Math & Physics Club
  • New Buffalo
  • New Ruins
  • Pissed Jeans
  • The Postmarks
  • RTX
  • Rumskib
  • Marnie Stern
  • Strategy
  • The Submarines
  • Richard Swift
  • About Press Play and Record
  • Underwriting
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Meet the Staff
  • Contact Information
  • Our Myspace
  • Mundane Sounds
  • Retailers of Note
  • Darla Records
  • Parasol
  • Tonevendor
  • Websites of Note
  • Tiny Mix Tapes
  • In Love with These Times, In Spite of These Times
  • Lamestain!
  • Built on a Weak Spot
  • Captains Dead
  • Chickfactor
  • Gorilla vs. Bear
  • Soul Sides
  • You Ain't No Picasso
  • I Guess I'm Floating
  • My Old Kentucky Blog
  • Domino Rally
  • Erasing Clouds
  • Mapadaisical
  • Music for Kids Who Can't Read Good
  • Muzzle Of Bees
  • So Much Silence
  • Chromewaves
  • The Rich Girls Are Weeping
  • I am Fuel, You Are Friends
  • Site Feeds
  • Feedburner
  • AOL
  • Google
  • Yahoo!
  • Cannonball Jane: Knees Up!
    Tuesday, December 4, 2007

    The coolest damn elementary school music teacher returns, and it's about damn time, too! I love the music of Cannonball Jane, and that was well before it was hip to love the fun, cute, and downright groovy melodies of Sharon Hagopian. Ah well, cool factors aside, Ms. Jane's new record, Knees Up!, is a short, brief EP of her brand of pop. Frisky and fun electro-pop with a smidgen of girl-group vocals, the seven songs found here--three of which are remixes, including one by the Beastie Boys' Adrock--are utterly delightful. Okay, I wish there was more new stuff--"Slumber Party" was a highlight of her debut LP, but I really enjoy it, all these years now. And "Breaker Breaker" is a pleasant, lilting mid-tempo popper. I featured it on a Mundane Sounds New Music Sampler a few years ago, so it's one that I've loved for years now."Secret Handshake" and "Bossa Tug" are pretty numbers, though a bit less poppy and a bit more melancholy than the other songs. The key song here, though, is "Take It To Fantastic," a loud, raucous, and downright CONTAGIOUS dance song with grooves that will make your body move. I'm still waiting for that new full-length, because, damn it, it's about time for Cannonball Jane to firmly conquer the world!

    Listen To: "Take It To Fantastic"

    Knees Up! is available now on Gaddycat Records


    posted by joseph kyle @ 12:18 PM  
    Post a Comment
    << Home
    Previous Postings
    Vintage Interviews
  • Ad Astra Per Apsera
  • Adem
  • Annuals
  • Bobby Bare, Jr
  • The Blow
  • Boduf Songs
  • Brothers & Sisters
  • Paul Burch
  • Allen Clapp
  • Angela Desveaux
  • The Draft
  • Evangelicals
  • Feathers
  • Grand Mal
  • Neil Hamburger
  • Headlights
  • His Name is Alive
  • Keris Howard
  • Graham Lindsey
  • Hans-Peter Lindstrøm
  • The Little Ones
  • Lucero
  • The Matches
  • Mahogany
  • Prophet Omega
  • Alec K. Redfearn
  • Relay
  • Dani Siciliano
  • Sprites
  • Tobin Sprout
  • Tacks, the Boy Disaster
  • Viva Voce
  • Westbound Train
  • What Made Milwaukee Famous
  • The World/Inferno Friendship Society
  • Blog Ethically!
    All songs appearing here are done so either with permission or for sampling purposes only. Files appear here for a limited time only, so act fast! If you possess the copyright to anything posted here and wish to have it removed, please let us know and we shall do so. We're not wanting to cause problems, friends.
    Template by

    Free Blogger Templates