Press Play, Record

Recent Interviews
  • Acute
  • AM
  • Aqueduct
  • Nicole Atkins
  • The Autumn Defense
  • Bears
  • Besnard Lakes
  • Benoit Pioulard
  • Big Sir
  • The Canvas Waiting
  • Cougar
  • Deerhunter
  • Loren Dent
  • The Earlies
  • Elanors
  • Explosions in the Sky
  • The Finches
  • Hammock
  • The Higher
  • The Hotel Alexis
  • The Inner Banks
  • Los Campesinos!
  • Lovedrug
  • Willy Mason
  • Math & Physics Club
  • New Buffalo
  • New Ruins
  • Pissed Jeans
  • The Postmarks
  • RTX
  • Rumskib
  • Marnie Stern
  • Strategy
  • The Submarines
  • Richard Swift
  • About Press Play and Record
  • Underwriting
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Meet the Staff
  • Contact Information
  • Our Myspace
  • Mundane Sounds
  • Retailers of Note
  • Darla Records
  • Parasol
  • Tonevendor
  • Websites of Note
  • Tiny Mix Tapes
  • In Love with These Times, In Spite of These Times
  • Lamestain!
  • Built on a Weak Spot
  • Captains Dead
  • Chickfactor
  • Gorilla vs. Bear
  • Soul Sides
  • You Ain't No Picasso
  • I Guess I'm Floating
  • My Old Kentucky Blog
  • Domino Rally
  • Erasing Clouds
  • Mapadaisical
  • Music for Kids Who Can't Read Good
  • Muzzle Of Bees
  • So Much Silence
  • Chromewaves
  • The Rich Girls Are Weeping
  • I am Fuel, You Are Friends
  • Site Feeds
  • Feedburner
  • AOL
  • Google
  • Yahoo!
  • Cloudland Canyon Silver Tongued Sisyphus
    Saturday, January 5, 2008

    Cloudland Canyon's Kranky debut, Silver-Tongued Sisyphus, is a two-song mini-album that impresses as it engages. Both songs are nearly twelve minutes in length, and both are similar, yet different. The first song, "Dambala," starts off with a drone, but it turns into a disturbing trip into space, with robotic creaks and glistening blasts of space. Then, halfway through the piece, with a jarring shift not unlike a primitive-era bone turning into a post-futuristic spaceship, the song turns into something different. A rather nice beat comes in, and keyboards are now prominently featured. Near the end of the piece, though, the sounds from the beginning fade back in, creating a lovely little sonic orchestra.

    The title track starts off with a gentle futuristic beat, again replete with robotic bleeps and bloops. Then, about three minutes in, it changes into a full-out psychedelic-rock FREAK OUT jam session, not unlike the sounds found on their previous record label, Tee Pee. It's an interesting contrast, as these sounds are wonderfully kaleidoscopic, though it stands in contrast with the previous song.

    Silver-Tongued Sisyphus is a nice introduction to a rather interesting band. This EP also serves as Kranky's introduction to the band, with their full-length Kranky debut coming early this year. If that record is anywhere as interesting as this EP, then the label has scored an impressive find.

    Listen To: "Dambala" (Excerpt)

    Labels: ,

    posted by joseph kyle @ 11:00 AM  
    Post a Comment
    << Home
    Previous Postings
    Vintage Interviews
  • Ad Astra Per Apsera
  • Adem
  • Annuals
  • Bobby Bare, Jr
  • The Blow
  • Boduf Songs
  • Brothers & Sisters
  • Paul Burch
  • Allen Clapp
  • Angela Desveaux
  • The Draft
  • Evangelicals
  • Feathers
  • Grand Mal
  • Neil Hamburger
  • Headlights
  • His Name is Alive
  • Keris Howard
  • Graham Lindsey
  • Hans-Peter Lindstrøm
  • The Little Ones
  • Lucero
  • The Matches
  • Mahogany
  • Prophet Omega
  • Alec K. Redfearn
  • Relay
  • Dani Siciliano
  • Sprites
  • Tobin Sprout
  • Tacks, the Boy Disaster
  • Viva Voce
  • Westbound Train
  • What Made Milwaukee Famous
  • The World/Inferno Friendship Society
  • Blog Ethically!
    All songs appearing here are done so either with permission or for sampling purposes only. Files appear here for a limited time only, so act fast! If you possess the copyright to anything posted here and wish to have it removed, please let us know and we shall do so. We're not wanting to cause problems, friends.
    Template by

    Free Blogger Templates